



IMEKO JOINT CONFERENCE

TC8 - TC11 - TC24

TC8 Traceability in Metrology

TC11 Measurement in Testing, Inspection and Certification

TC24 Chemical Measurements

TORINO, ITALY / SEPTEMBER 14-17, 2025

ORGANIZERS

CHAIRS OF THE ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

MICHELA SEGA Istituto Nazionale di Ricerca

Metrologica (INRiM)

LEONARDO IANNUCCI

Politecnico di Torino ÁLVARO SILVA RIBEIRO

National Laboratory for Civil Engineering

TATJANA TOMIĆ INA Industrija nafte d.d.

PAOLO MOSCATTI ASSOTIC - Italian CABs Association

CONTACTS



EMAIL (S) info@imekotorino2025.org

FACEBOOK **f** fb.com/imekotorino2025





SPECIAL SESSION

Chemico-physical measurements in Heritage Science

- DESCRIPTION -

This special session will explore the latest advancements in chemical and physical measurements in cultural heritage research. Accurate and trustable measurement techniques enable scientists and conservators to assess material composition, construction techniques, dimensional information, degradation processes, and environmental influences on historical artifacts. The session will include methodological innovations and case studies encompassing a wide range of analytical techniques, from laboratory measurements to in-situ non-invasive testing.

A key aspect of this discussion will be the establishment of standardized protocols to ensure measurement accuracy, repeatability, and traceability in heritage science. Contributions will address the challenges of applying quantitative analysis to heterogeneous and aged materials and highlight the role of interdisciplinary collaborations in enhancing data reliability.

By fostering dialogue between metrologists, chemists, physicists, and heritage scientists, this session aims to advance measurement methodologies and support the long-term preservation of cultural heritage through rigorous scientific approaches.

WEBSITE

https://imekotorino2025.org/special-session-5

ORGANIZED BY

Laura Guidorzi

Università degli Studi di Torino Email: laura.guidorzi@unito.it

Marta **Magalini**

Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare Email: marta.magalini@to.infn.it

Miriana Marabotto

Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare
Email: miriana.marabotto@to.infn.it